Triumph Bobber Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,091 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, if I'm away for four months and not riding :crying:, should oil be changed before, after storage or both? Thanks.

·
Registered
970 Posts
In my opinion, after.
4 months is not that long.

Hope all is well !
Four months is certainly enough time for particles to come out of solution and settle in the sump. If the oil is fairly new then it probably doesn't matter since there won't be too much junk that passed the almost new oil filter (assuming that it was changed at the last oil change). In my part of the world we mothball our bikes for a few winter months so I have some experience with this issue. It's always better to have clean oil when storing a motor for several months.

Chico

·
Super Moderator
3,352 Posts
Knowing Jerrman I doubt the oil currently in his bike will be old or low quality.
When my bikes were stored for over a year I would have them drained and prepped for long term storage. But 4 months? If it was my bike I would change the oil after this short period.

If it was a track bike I would change before and after. But not so on a well used road bike.

Another thought; Fuel may go bad in this time if not stored correctly.

·
Super Moderator
3,352 Posts
Anyway, just want to add that this is my personal opinion and what I would do - and have done - on my bike(s).
I’m not a mechanic and I’m sure Chico has a very valid point too.

If the oil change question is a major concern, I would just change before and after to erase any doubt or worry you have.

I would also elevate the bike with paddock stands.

·
Registered
970 Posts
Knowing Jerrman I doubt the oil currently in his bike will be old or low quality.
When my bikes were stored for over a year I would have them drained and prepped for long term storage. But 4 months? If it was my bike I would change the oil after this short period.