Triumph Bobber Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first bike with a chain. What should I use to grease the chain.I looked on line and it recommended a lithium grease but I have been reading and now I’m not sure. What is best

·
Registered
2018 Speedmaster
367 Posts
Like you this is my first chain bike so I am no expert. That said, I have been using chain wax and it seems to work well. I like that it does not fly off if you let it dry a little before riding. But there could be better options. You can pick it up at Walmart or most bike shops.

Liquid Bottle Drink Personal care Font

·
Registered
534 Posts
Any discussion about chain lube will result in a myriad of opinions. I use different methods for my Honda workhorse which is out in all weathers and my Bobber which is a leisure bike for nice days out when the sun is shining. So much depends on your use of the bike and the environment - there is no single answer.

The Bobber chain is sealed so you're not actually lubricating the moving parts. You are mainly protecting the links from corrosion. You also need to use cleaning and lubricating products that do not damage the seals. Paraffin (or Kerosene) is ideal. Do not use petrol, that will wreck your chain.

The most traditional lube (and one recommended by many manufacturers) is gear oil applied lightly with a brush. The theory is that it is thick enough not to be flung off. It is cheap and effective. The downside is that it is messy and makes the chain sticky which attracts dirt. Grease will do the same so I wouldn't use it.

I prefer a dry wax for my Bobber. I use Wurth dry chain wax but there are many similar products. https://www.sportsbikeshop.co.uk/motorcycle_parts/content_prod/29605