Triumph Bobber Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the bobber. Is it normal to have a pretty strong gas smell? Is this something to do with the canister? Its strong enough that I can smell it other side of the garage. Maybe a tube is disconnected somewhere... I was looking around and I did notice that the canister has a short tube coming out and pointing down and on the same side, there is another nipple that looks like its supposed to have a tube attached, but nothing is there - is that normal? Anything else I can check? Tank is about 3/4 full.

I'll have to store the bike in my basement in the winter and I'm a bit worried how strong the smell is!

·
Registered
417 Posts
I’ve never smelled anything like that with my Bobber, which sits I’m my attached garage. I think a tank overfill will run the extra into the canister or on the ground...so that may have happened.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Gas smell.. nope, my wife has a “Bionic Nose” And has not mentioned ANY gas smell from either of our bobbers.. She will defiantly let me know if there is, the garage is accessed from the kitchen.. and she can tell if our neighbor hasn’t changed his cats littler box..:)

·
Registered
171 Posts
Not real familiar with the fuel evap system on these.. if the tank has a overflow, and it leads to the (from what I’m guessing) charcoal canister.. the system (in theory-on cars) pulls the “fumes” back through the intake and they get burned.. but .. that is a “closed” evap system..
But like I said, I’m not familiar with this system or if it even HAS a evap system..
I say, take it for a ride, park it and look for any “leaks”...

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I've done a bit more research.. Looks like I overfilled the tank and the canister has a bit of gas saturation. The solution is to just ride it and it will eventually dry out in there via the bikes purging process.