Triumph Bobber Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a drummer, and drum hardware is really strong and designed to take a beating... so I thought, "Why not use drum clamps to stick stuff to the bike?"

The sissy bar stays on ok, looks ok… but I think I might take it off. I'm not so sure I like the way it sweeps the profile back.

(I am totally happy with the diamond seat and clip-ons, though…)

Attachments

·
Registered
56 Posts
it's your bike so make it your own but the sissy bar totally destroys the lines of the bike. I like the clip ons though

cheers

Gary

·
Registered
167 Posts
Clamps for filming gear is also strong, just look at all those hollywood stunt cars that use gear you can find at the local photography store.

·
Registered
370 Posts
I wanted to do a sissy bar on mine. I think it would look good if done right but that....well it's not done right haha.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
136 Posts
Ghostnote: Keep doing what you're doing. The only one you have to please (ultimately) is yourself.

We all have a concept of what looks good to us, based on many factors. Moreover, what looked good to me at 20 is now different that I'm 65. One of the attractions of the Bobber (at least, to me) is that it is very minimalist, i.e, devoid of windshield, big bags, sissy bars, etc. This may account for the lack of positive response you got on the sissy bar.

Yet, remember that one of the design criteria for the Bobber was that it was meant to be a platform for customization. Since I've grown conservative over the years (process of aging, I reckon), I doubt I'm make many modifications. But in my early 30s, I customized a hardtail that HD copied <kidding> into a low rider after I got it build. Glad it's out of my system, as stock appeals to me now, especially this model.

Keep being creative and have fun at it. After all: it's your bike.

·
Registered
70 Posts