Triumph Bobber Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I very carefully measured the chain slack at its low and high point.
with top chain tight I came out with a 1.5" slank measurement - after first 415 miles of conservative riding.

This is my first time measurement. I tried to use the spot on the chain that had the most movement but was still readily accessible.
Manual (p.79) says chain slack should be 1.02 - 1.3 inches (22mm - 33mm) so I'm over at around 38mm.

As a side note. These wrench sizes would seem to do the trip for tightening the chain - adjuster bolt and lock nuts.
wrenches for chain adjust: 1 1/16", 11mm, 12mm (not perfect but std sizes

Attachments

·
Registered
187 Posts
Doesn't have to be perfect, whichever wrench size works. This is a reminder that we should probably check our chains after the break in period in case it's too slack.

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
lol..the fancy measuring tool is a cheap plastic caliper of course.
make sure you get one that will measure 6".
Harbor freight has one $2.99. Amazon has similar prices.

·
Super Moderator
3,352 Posts
I wonder if Triumph checks this at the 500 mile break in service. And I guess I need to by that fancy measuring tool.
Yes, they are supposed to check it.
I have moved my service forward to Tuesday and i will ask the mechanic to measure the slack (i have CANED my bike from day 1 with no mechanical sympathy, apart from a good warm up). My chain is quite saggy!
Going to put Motul 300V engine oil - as have used this with great results on every bike i have owned.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Probably best to get your own plastic caliper and periodically check the chain slack in case it's a recurring problem after a certain amount of miles.

·
Super Moderator
3,352 Posts
Probably best to get your own plastic caliper and periodically check the chain slack in case it's a recurring problem after a certain amount of miles.
I´ll do no such thing.