Triumph Bobber Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After I finished up with my 3D printed tail Tidy I was looking for a short fender without having chop up stock on and not paying an arm & leg for stamped metal.

I worked in the aerospace industry in my previous life time and use to do come made parts all the time. So I figured I am going to spend $600+ on a steel fender why not make a light weight customized one. I have been developing one for the last couple weeks and just trying to get the molds and finish down. I finally got to something I was generally happy with, but still have a little ways to go.

Wanted to share my progress so far and with plenty more updates to come and possibly even making a bunch of them for you all (with a matching front fender of course).

Let me know what you think, keep in mind this is a final product just yet.

·
Registered
90 Posts
My level of jealousy for modifications people have done has reached a new high. How much weight did you cut off? This is just awesome.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
That is fantastic! I’d love to try one out.
Yup working on trying to get some decent tooling done so that lay a whole bunch of them up.

My level of jealousy for modifications people have done has reached a new high. How much weight did you cut off? This is just awesome.
Its probably not all that much, but the fender is basically ounces compared to the stock assembly. I will try to toss it all a weight machine when I am done.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Thats amazing. great job.

I'd "fillet" (using 3d modeling language haha) the rear parts of the fender so they are more round.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
mind if I ask what 3D software and printer you used?
Sorry haven't modeled it yet, working on it. I have a few different CAD options available at work. As for the printer just using a cheap Creality 4S Pro

Thats amazing. great job.