Triumph Bobber Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,447 Posts
Okay so I'm really no expert on this but when I purchased mine the sales chap (who races Triumphs) suggested I replace the cat. This I did but not sure how much weight I dropped from this process but having lifted the cat it's rather hefty so I think that would be a good start.

Perhaps someone more authoritative than I can say how much weight this sheds from the bike?

Cheerio,

Roy

·
Registered
789 Posts
I am quite sure you didn't replace the cat, you removed it and I am guessing you saved 6 or 8 lbs in the process! The bad news is that since it's the lowest point on the bike you can't feel it!>:)

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
Curtail beer, Ice cream, and bread.....???? substitute vodka....
:laugh:

Or substitute Scotch. :smile2:

In my younger days I rode bicycles. I spent big bucks buying the lightest shifters and the lightest pedals and the lightest seats. And then one day someone told me to get rid of a few pounds myself. It worked and was a lot cheaper than buying expensive parts.

As for the Bobber . . . it is already stripped down. A lighter exhaust might help.

·
Registered
370 Posts
Good luck finding a light set of straight through unless you go to a custom pipe shop. Place in Thailand does it but they want the bike there so not an option for me. I tried customizing a pair of mass moto pipes meant for Bonnie t120’s but it would take major customization so unfortunately I wasted a lot of money. I’d venture to say I’ve lost close to that on my Bobber though. The catalytic converter alone I bet is a good 10lbs. That thing is unnecessarily heavy.

2017 Triumph Bobber NYC

·
Registered
19 Posts