Triumph Bobber Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been working on my bike doing lots of work on it and i had the idea of putting on a suicide shifter but was curious if anyone had already done it and had some photos. Id hate to get it done and hate the way it looks or rides.

·
Premium Member
2,452 Posts
Hi Byron,

I have no experience with these so can't offer any real advice.

However I commend you for your individual and adventurous spirit.

I think it's worth remembering that in the early days of motorcycles there were lots of systems that are not longer in use today (likely for good reason) but those riders certainly didn't seem to have too much problem riding.

So if you're keen I say go for it. Not for me but if you pull it off, I would be interested to hear how you get on.

Cheerio and good luck with whatever you decided to do.

Roy

·
Registered
277 Posts
Ive been working on my bike doing lots of work on it and i had the idea of putting on a suicide shifter but was curious if anyone had already done it and had some photos. Id hate to get it done and hate the way it looks or rides.

I have a Pinterest account that sends me links to photos of bobber mods every day (real PITA mostly) but a lot of custom suicide clutch installs. Try a google image search triumph bobber suicide clutch and see what you come up with.

No interest for me, had a panhead with one. Hated it and dangerous. Didn't make me bad-ass, just stupid.

·
Super Moderator
1,059 Posts
Just a thought...fit a faux suicide shifter but leave the real shifter alone. That will give you loads of options without demonstrating the 'suicide' part.

·
Registered
310 Posts
My opinion would be why one earth would you want something so awkward? As Roy says above there is a reason some of these things have passed into history. I am all for authentic, but why not go the whole hog and fit drum brakes and remove the rear suspension while your at it?

·
Super Moderator