Triumph Bobber Forum banner

Finding neutral on Black Bobber

7K views 20 replies 15 participants last post by  Mar-Vel 
#1 ·
I have a brand new Bobber Black I just started riding. I am a new rider and perhaps this is a stupid question. I find it very hard to find neutral. Is this normal? Does it take a while to break it in and it becomes easier? Is this pretty normal on all bikes?

#2 ·
It is a new bike thing, my Speedmaster is getting easier, but one of my issues is finding neutrals I don't want! So, when in first, don't do a normal gearchange up, do a "lazy" one. Conversely when changing first to second (where I find my neutral when cold) be "definite"... I don't mean kick the heck out of it, just nuance your move on the gear change.

#5 ·
Yep switching neutral in bobber black is lottery, i have 8k km on odo and hitting neutral is worse than when it was new, so it wont get better.
This is first bike i have problems finding neutral, need to switch between 1st -2 snd gear multiple times to find neutral, even very light switch will jump over.

#6 · (Edited)
I haven't noticed any problems on my new Black Bobber thus far.

That's not much help I know but just offered for perspective.

Although I do find the gearbox in general is clunky. I have to keep reminding myself to use the clutch when changing up, something I got into the habit of not doing on my V-Max as the gears were a little slick and I didn't need to use the clutch often, so got lazy.

Cheerio,

Roy

#9 ·
I have tried (back to back) 300V and Castrol Power 1 on my GSA.
I much preferred the 300V. So I look forward to hearing your findings once you’ve tried it.
The bike sounded better (much less “clattering” if you know what I mean) and had better gear changes with the 300V.
Even the BMW mechanic asked what i was using after he took it for a test ride - so he could buy some for his bike. That was a big compliment !

#11 ·