PCV but Unable to Flash Now - Triumph Bobber Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By trirocket3
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 01:24 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Sorcath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 39
Garage
PCV but Unable to Flash Now

As in title, I installed the PCV and took my bike to get tuned. Feels way more responsive, especially gear changes and uphill! The only issue is that there's a huge wall being hit when the ECU tells it to suddenly and drastically decelerate. My dyno guy told me he would just flash it to get around the issue, but when he tried to connect he was unable to. Anybody else have experience with this type of issue?

So long, and thanks for all the fish!
Sorcath is offline  
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 482
Are you talking about the speed limiter that comes in at 110-115mph, if so the pcv cannot overcome this.
trirocket3 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 78
Probably he is talking about rev limiter. Currently i have same behavior, ca 1000rpm before limiter bike looses power.
Most noticeable when hardly accelerating with 2nd gear to limiter, > 100kmh ok after it 100 - 120 looses power.
ivx675 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 09:59 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Sorcath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 39
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by trirocket3 View Post
Are you talking about the speed limiter that comes in at 110-115mph, if so the pcv cannot overcome this.

I very well am. Is there any kind of advice you could offer me?

So long, and thanks for all the fish!
Sorcath is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 482
As regards rev limit with the pcv you can increase by 400rpm, you can connect your laptop to pcv easy, your bike may not make any more power up there but if you often hit the rpm limiter it gives you a little more time to change up before hitting that wall just when you least need it.
Not sure anyone has beaten the bobber speed limiter yet, I have looked into a few options even tried an ecu from a TTR but they have sneaky safeguards & the ecu knows it is not on the correct bike.
I am going to try messing with the gear sensor, but I am sceptical about results I think the limiter is linked to wheel rotation/abs ring so not sure what gear it thinks it is in will make a difference, but I have to try.
I do think someone will bust into the then we can have 130+mph Bobbers, the sooner the better because it is annoying being robbed of power just when things are getting interesting.
trirocket3 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Great Black North's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Northern Alberta
Posts: 490
Garage
Don't think the gear trick is going to work, I've hit the limiter in 5 as well as 6.

My Bike's Photographic History to Date
Yes I'm Proud of My Bike! Deal!
Great Black North is online now  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Great Black North View Post
Don't think the gear trick is going to work, I've hit the limiter in 5 as well as 6.
Of course any gear that will reach limited speed is no good that is why I am looking to make the ecu think it is in 1st
Great Black North likes this.
trirocket3 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome