Blinker/Headlight Assistance Question? - Triumph Bobber Forum
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By Mar-Vel
  • 1 Post By Beaker
  • 1 Post By Great Black North
  • 1 Post By Forjox
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
Roy
Senior Member
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 2,137
Garage
Blinker/Headlight Assistance Question?

Hi Gents,

So my front/right indicator has not been working at all for a couple of weeks. I was advised by a dealership that the connection (in the back of the headlight) may have just come unplugged.

I thought I might attempt to check this out myself, so can someone with more knowledge than I give me some advice on how I actually get into the headlight?

Note I am running a Speedmaster headlight but I'm thinking it would be the same/similar.

Cheerio,

Roy
Roy is online now  
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 08:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Mar-Vel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: VA USA
Posts: 343
Take out the Philips screw at the bottom of the headlight bezel , take off bezel headlight should just fall out....Make sure you catch It .
Roy likes this.

Last edited by Mar-Vel; 05-09-2019 at 08:17 PM.
Mar-Vel is online now  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 08:54 PM Thread Starter
Roy
Senior Member
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 2,137
Garage
Hi Mar-Vel,

Thanks for that mate. Hoped it would be simple like that but wanted to double check just in case.

Fingers crossed it's an easy fix.

Cheerio,

Roy
Roy is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Beaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Onatario, Canada
Posts: 107
I had the same problem. I lifted my tank back a bit to make space to get to the mess of wires. All I ended up doing was moving the connector for the signal a bit and it started working again. It looked fine and I didn't actually change anything. Just a cheap connector plug I think. It's been working ever since. The plug is not inside the headlight.
Roy likes this.
Beaker is online now  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 12:22 PM Thread Starter
Roy
Senior Member
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 2,137
Garage
Thanks for that Beaker,

Haven't got to this project yet but this gives me somewhere else to look.

Cheerio,

Roy
Roy is online now  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 05:51 PM Thread Starter
Roy
Senior Member
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 2,137
Garage
Hi Guys,

I think? (he say's with his fingers crossed) I have fixed this.

As mentioned by Beaker, the indicator wire goes under the tank (not into the back of the headlight which I was told by the Triumph tech..!). I traced the wire and felt that perhaps it was too tight under the wire clamp (see photo). So I loosen'd off both of the indicators, undid the wiring clamp, pulled the wired to the rear a little and retightened everything back up.

This seems to have solved the problem, if so then that's an easy fix. Will monitor going forward but fingers crossed.

Cheerio,

Roy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-05-11 at 1.47.03 PM.png
Views:	36
Size:	606.0 KB
ID:	33053  
Roy is online now  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-11-2019, 11:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Great Black North's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Northern Alberta
Posts: 490
Garage
I'd be willing to bet it is Roy.

When I put the matching signals for the multi-function rears on, mine did the same thing and I literally did what beaker said, pulled tank back an couple inches and poked at the plugs, and away it went and hasn't missed a beat since.
Roy likes this.

My Bike's Photographic History to Date
Yes I'm Proud of My Bike! Deal!
Great Black North is online now  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-12-2019, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Milwaukee, WI. USA
Posts: 371
Garage
Just my thoughts.....I see posts here saying they just wiggled or poked around at the wires and ALL was good? If you happened to have pulled the wires lose enough to cause a poor connection, my opinion is that finding that poor connection and making it tight or whatever is in order. Iím not testing peopleís competence, but maybe I misunderstood the postings? 🤔
Have a great day! Oh.....Happy Motherís Day to you MOTHERS out there!
Roy likes this.

Riding Free
Forjox is online now  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-12-2019, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Roy
Senior Member
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 2,137
Garage
Hi forjox,

You are totally correct of course. As I'm not too mechanically minded and my nearest dealer is a distance, my plan is/was to get this working and then on my next service/maintenance have a professional take a more serious look at it while other work was being done.

Will take a ride today and she if all s working okay.

Cheerio,

Roy
Roy is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for guys that have removed air boxes MX429 Service And Maintenance 1 06-10-2018 10:19 PM
To BC, or not to BC, that is the question Bobber-Bomb Triumph Bobber Forum General Discussion 0 03-29-2018 11:17 AM
Cruise control question MX429 Triumph Bobber Forum General Discussion 9 01-15-2018 04:49 PM
kickstand modification question majstevetrevor Triumph Bobber Forum General Discussion 1 09-02-2017 12:16 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome