Indicator Assistance Needed? - Triumph Bobber Forum
 10Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 07:25 PM Thread Starter
Roy
Senior Member
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 2,120
Garage
Question Indicator Assistance Needed?

Hi Gents,

So in preparation for the oncoming thaw I started to give my bike a check over and noted the front/right indicator is not working. I know there have been a few threads on dodgy indicators but before I get into it too far I thought I had better see if the bulb is out.

So can anyone tell me how to get into the thing?

Cheerio,

Roy
Roy is online now  
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 12:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Jaymz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 187
I have a box of new front indicators here! If it’s the indicator, I can give you one for the price of the shipping. I would guess it’s about $20 shipping to Colorado
ysoslo and Roy like this.
Jaymz is online now  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 01:17 AM
Senior Member
 
ysoslo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,319
Garage
@Jaymz , any chance you have any extra clamp parts for the front indicators? I cracked one of mine when I was removing it to put my Rage360 indicators on, so at some point I'll need to get a replacement.

Each one matters.
ysoslo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 01:21 AM Thread Starter
Roy
Senior Member
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 2,120
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaymz View Post
I have a box of new front indicators here! If itís the indicator, I can give you one for the price of the shipping. I would guess itís about $20 shipping to Colorado
Hi Jay,

Thanks mate that's grand. If it's not simple like the bulb I will for sure take you up on it, very generous indeed.

If someone can tell me how to get into it to check the bulb that would be grand?

Cheerio,

Roy
Roy is online now  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 06:12 AM
Senior Member
 
LordLoveRocket71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Southend on Sea, Essex, England
Posts: 243
I don't believe you can take the unit apart, I think it's a sealed unit. I had the same issue with my front left. Anyway's took it back to the dealer they said grit/dirt in connection. This was pretty much from day 1 of ownership. Once the dealer cleaned out connection has never caused me any grief.
ysoslo and Roy like this.
LordLoveRocket71 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Triumphrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: The big smoke T.O. in Ontario
Posts: 168
Itís this whole can/bus system, you may or may not recall I had zero turn signals working and they determined a faulty speedometer as wiring goes through this unit back to ťcu.

I much preferred the simplicity of past lighting electrics.

I fear this could become an occurring issue with having to have dealership visits more often. Planned maintenance

Your problem may be something as simple as a loose connection though, do you recall the very last thing you worked on, go there.
Roy likes this.
Triumphrider is online now  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: North Carolina/California
Posts: 1,081
You cannot take the units apart.

The rear indicators do not have much slack in the wiring so the connections aren't very good. Pull some slack in the wires and reconnect. Your turn signals will probably work. Mine did.
Roy likes this.

Triumph Bobber Black
Porsche Macan Sport Edition (Black)
gfspencer is online now  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 11:22 AM Thread Starter
Roy
Senior Member
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 2,120
Garage
Thanks Gents,

Sealed unitis on indicators! Yes I too long for the old days. I'm no mechanic or electrician but like to know I can change a bulb if needed.

I moved my speedo when fitting the windshield so I will give that a look later on.

Always appreciate the help here chaps.

Cheerio,

Roy
Roy is online now  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 11:34 AM Thread Starter
Roy
Senior Member
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Prescott Arizona
Posts: 2,120
Garage
Hi Gents,

Just 'wiggled' the wires under the speedo and it seems to be working for now.

Fingers crossed..

Cheers,

Roy
Forjox and DanFromVegas like this.
Roy is online now  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 03-31-2019, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Triumphrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: The big smoke T.O. in Ontario
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy View Post
Hi Gents,

Just 'wiggled' the wires under the speedo and it seems to be working for now.

Fingers crossed..

Cheers,

Roy
There you go, that damned speedo system, I donít like it cause I donít understand it. Well done
Roy likes this.
Triumphrider is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motone X-Pipe... anything else needed? Mike J Commo Exhaust And Headers 9 03-06-2019 06:47 PM
Foot boards parts needed? Eric Satterfield Suspension And Brakes 3 01-06-2019 04:42 PM
Rounded bolt when replacing clutch cover, help needed! unparalleledltwin Triumph Bobber Issues And Problems 7 11-03-2018 12:47 PM
Torque specs needed DesertRunner Suspension And Brakes 2 04-19-2018 12:54 AM
Help needed size of seat bolt derchef62 Appearance Modifications 3 03-05-2018 12:48 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome