Where to shift - Triumph Bobber Forum
 12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-06-2018, 11:22 PM Thread Starter

Where to shift

I’m new to riding and was curious as to what RPMs most are shifting from 1st to 2nd, 2nd to 3rd etc. Seems like I was shifting between 2k and 3k, but after reading a review of the Black Bobber today, the writer was talking about shifting at 5k to really feel the torque pull. That seems very high and wondering if that is bad for this engine.
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-06-2018, 11:55 PM
Roy

Garage
Hi Steve,

I'm no expert and I'm sure more knowledgeable riders will give better advice.

But after 35 years of riding one just has to feel the right time to shift. This depends on the style of riding and what you want to get out of your bike. As a younger rider I would use the revs a lot more because I was more focused on performance. These days I'm much more laid back and more considerate of of the machine underneath me.

My advice? Get to know your bike and listen to it, she will 'talk' to you, as to if you're over or under revving for changing gear.

Enjoy.

Cheerio,

Roy
eisen77, Rocky, Rodders and 2 others like this.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-07-2018, 12:53 AM

Garage
Different for different circumstances. Normal running along when you're not in a rush, I'm sort of with what you already do - although 2k is the minimum revs under power really, but if you are "making progress" in an overtake/dash away from lights etc, then 5k is also good... As Roy says, let the bike tell you...

Larry

Essex UK

2018 Bonnie Speedmaster Jet Black with Highway pack (less bags) and rider footboards
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-07-2018, 01:19 AM