Triumph Bobber Forum banner

Not a Triumph Problem

8K views 28 replies 17 participants last post by  eisen77 
#1 ·
This is not a Triumph problem. It is a "me" problem. I can't keep my big foot off of the rear brake. :frown2: The bike will seem a bit sluggish and I will look down and see that my foot is resting on the brake. I've been riding for 40+ years and I only have this problem with Triumphs (Bonneville, Scrambler and Bobber). I never rode the brake when I was ridding a BMW or a Ducati. Any tips or suggestions? :|

#4 ·
Generally speaking you shouldn’t be riding with the arch of your foot on the peg unless you are intentionally covering the rear brake.
I’m not sure if it’s possible, but can you perhaps lower the rear brake pedal so it’s angled further away from your foot ?
As SXTONY said, the balls of your feet should be on the peg weighing it down, but if your can’t get used to that position then changing the angle of the lever may be your best bet.

#7 ·
I have US Mens size 16 feet, never had an issue with hitting the brakes accidentally on any bike...

I'm assuming this is a troll thread, but you could just but your heel on the peg and angle your foot slightly to the right, instead of what you're doing which is resting your foot on the brake pedal anyways (which seems silly to do).

#8 ·
Nope. Not a troll thread. I own a Bobber and I've been on this forum a long time with over 900 posts.

My problem is that I am used to riding sport bikes (Ducati) or sport/touring bikes (BMW). With those bikes my feet were slightly behind me and therefore my feet pointed downward automatically. I never touched the foot brake. With a cruiser style bike my riding position is more "sit up and beg" and my feet are slightly in front of me and for me that gives me a tendency to put my feet on the brake. (I have owned 20 motorcycles in my lifetime. The Bobber is the first that is anywhere close to a cruiser so my riding style has really changed and I'm not used to it.)