Not a Triumph Problem - Triumph Bobber Forum
 25Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 11:20 AM Thread Starter

Not a Triumph Problem

This is not a Triumph problem. It is a "me" problem. I can't keep my big foot off of the rear brake. The bike will seem a bit sluggish and I will look down and see that my foot is resting on the brake. I've been riding for 40+ years and I only have this problem with Triumphs (Bonneville, Scrambler and Bobber). I never rode the brake when I was ridding a BMW or a Ducati. Any tips or suggestions?

Triumph Bobber Black
Porsche Macan Sport Edition (Black)
post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 11:36 AM
Super Moderator

Take your foot off the brake
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 11:37 AM

Put the ball of your foot on the peg rather than your arch/heel possibly?
eisen77 and Burn619 like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 12:30 PM
Super Moderator

Generally speaking you shouldnít be riding with the arch of your foot on the peg unless you are intentionally covering the rear brake.
Iím not sure if itís possible, but can you perhaps lower the rear brake pedal so itís angled further away from your foot ?
As SXTONY said, the balls of your feet should be on the peg weighing it down, but if your canít get used to that position then changing the angle of the lever may be your best bet.
gfspencer likes this.
post #5 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 02:37 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Psychopasta View Post
Take your foot off the brake
Gosh. Why didn't I think of that?
Psychopasta likes this.

Triumph Bobber Black
post #6 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 02:42 PM

You can Swing the lever around I believe which would mean that you could rest your foot on the pedal without braking

My 5Ę
post #7 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 03:58 PM

I have US Mens size 16 feet, never had an issue with hitting the brakes accidentally on any bike...