Fully Synthetic Engine oil - Triumph Bobber Forum
 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-18-2018, 11:42 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chezqui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 586
Fully Synthetic Engine oil

Any thoughts on this.
My dealer tells me it isn't necessary... but I want to run on it.

Any thoughts?

Also, while we are here, do we think that running the booster plug to richen the mixture might just increase bore wear because of the increased amount of fuel washing the lubrication away.

Discuss
chezqui is online now  
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-18-2018, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
MX429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 368
Isn’t the Castrol that is factory filled in this bike a synthetic?

The concern about washing away lubrication is not necessary. It is true that a bad injector or overly rich condition can “wash out” the rings in an engine and cause damage in extreme situations.

The slight enrichment of something like a booster plug is not in the vicinity of a overly rich situation.
chezqui likes this.
MX429 is online now  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-18-2018, 01:15 PM
Super Moderator
 
eisen77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palma de Mallorca
Posts: 3,214
https://www.triumphbobberforum.com/fo...vice-done.html

Motul 300V.
Been using it for years on all my bikes. It’s all I use & I swear by it.
Mike the Bike and chezqui like this.
eisen77 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-18-2018, 01:29 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chezqui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by MX429 View Post
Isn’t the Castrol that is factory filled in this bike a synthetic?

The concern about washing away lubrication is not necessary. It is true that a bad injector or overly rich condition can “wash out” the rings in an engine and cause damage in extreme situations.

The slight enrichment of something like a booster plug is not in the vicinity of a overly rich situation.
The standard oil is just that. So I am going to synthetic with a new filter.

Booster plug here I come then! It must be nice to have control of the throttle during stop/start motoring.
chezqui is online now  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-18-2018, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
BOBBYP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: SUFFIELD, CT. USA
Posts: 729
The factory fill Castrol is semi-synthetic just as Triumph calls for. I would say use whatever gives you the most confidence!
BOBBYP is online now  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-18-2018, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chezqui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOBBYP View Post
The factory fill Castrol is semi-synthetic just as Triumph calls for. I would say use whatever gives you the most confidence!
So yet another instance of my dealer talking out of his back passage.
chezqui is online now  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-19-2018, 02:51 AM
Senior Member
 
PFEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Alsace - France
Posts: 459



765RS,Speed3R,ThruxtonR,T120,ThruxtonClassic,Thrux tonEFI,HDSlim,48,NightRoad,DynaGlide,Roadking,Héri tage,900CBR,1500F6C,1100ZRX,1200Bandit,1100Zéphir, 1000CBR,750SRAD,VMax,750&1000GSXR,750Stinger,FJ120 0,500XT,Ténéré,GS1000&750,GT750&380,RDX,K5..
PFEN is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-19-2018, 03:43 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chezqui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by PFEN View Post


Thanks PFEN, I already have an Iphone
chezqui is online now  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-19-2018, 05:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Bob's_yer_firkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 250
I use fully synthetic now in all my vehicles. There is hardly any price difference between the Castrol semi-synthetic and the full synthetic anyway. Though having said that I am using Shell fully synthetic in mine currently.
chezqui likes this.
Bob's_yer_firkin is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-19-2018, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Hornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by eisen77 View Post
https://www.triumphbobberforum.com/fo...vice-done.html

Motul 300V.
Been using it for years on all my bikes. It’s all I use & I swear by it.
What are your change intervals for Motul?
Hornet is offline  
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bash plate or engine Shoes for bobber Jo Quijada Engine Discussions 20 04-12-2018 03:11 PM
Engine Cases Ethariel Triumph Bobber Issues And Problems 25 03-15-2018 10:46 AM
Help in removing engine mount please. Tall Tree Exhaust And Headers 6 12-31-2017 03:36 AM
Engine clattering sound hastu Triumph Bobber Issues And Problems 12 08-31-2017 12:34 AM
Is it bad to use the Engine Cut-Off Switch? djdannygunz Triumph Bobber Forum General Discussion 15 06-14-2017 08:16 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome