Cruise control fitted... - Triumph Bobber Forum
 14Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-27-2017, 11:30 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
eisen77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palma de Mallorca
Posts: 3,314
Cruise control fitted...

I had the cruise control fitted last week (for the EU, it is the non-DRL version A9630247 )
It is a nice mod to have, but it is the crudest, most basic version and i feel that Triumph could have offered this as OEM equipment for a few pennies more.

For 301 euros including fitting, it is a glorified software update (the bike is 100% cruise control ready, as the dash already has the activation light installed & all cabling is plug & play) and in order to accomodate this upgrade it is necessary to replace the whole left hand side switch cube - FOR A SINGLE ON/OFF BUTTON!!!!
And after paying all that, you cannot change your speed on the fly (acceleration nor decel). All you can do is cancel your set speed.
I expected more from a fly by wire system.
Even switching it off is not intuitive (unless you cancel it by touching the throttle/brake/clutch). Turning it on requires two pushes on the button to set it.

I have no problem paying for quality, workmanship, etc. But i feel that this mod is a little expensive compared to what it gives and what it COULD have cost if installed from the factory.

eisen77 is online now  
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-27-2017, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Mike the Bike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
Hello mate,
While I don't have the CC on my bobber, (but seriously considering it), I'm thinking that you may be able to get the control that you're seeking, from the throttle.
When you're cruising with the CC on, and you want to add a little speed, you should be able to do so by opening the throttle to your desired higher speed, (which temporarily deactivates the CC), and then hitting the CC button once. It should then carry on at the newly set speed.
If you want to slow down a bit, you can turn the throttle forward (which also temporarily deactivates the CC), causing the bike to decelerate until you've reached your desired speed and then hit the CC button once to continue at the newly set speed.
Forgive me if I've got it wrong as I've not read the instructions yet, but after riding an HD Road King with CC for the last 8 years, which operates similar to this; it would only seem logical to me that Triumph would have set this up this way.

Simple yes, and you're quite right saying that they could have made this standard or as an option for a few extra pennies;
with you on that.

Cheers!
Mike
Mike the Bike is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-27-2017, 01:18 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
eisen77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Palma de Mallorca
Posts: 3,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike the Bike View Post
Hello mate,
While I don't have the CC on my bobber, (but seriously considering it), I'm thinking that you may be able to get the control that you're seeking, from the throttle.
When you're cruising with the CC on, and you want to add a little speed, you should be able to do so by opening the throttle to your desired higher speed, (which temporarily deactivates the CC), and then hitting the CC button once. It should then carry on at the newly set speed.
If you want to slow down a bit, you can turn the throttle forward (which also temporarily deactivates the CC), causing the bike to decelerate until you've reached your desired speed and then hit the CC button once to continue at the newly set speed.
Forgive me if I've got it wrong as I've not read the instructions yet, but after riding an HD Road King with CC for the last 8 years, which operates similar to this; it would only seem logical to me that Triumph would have set this up this way.

Simple yes, and you're quite right saying that they could have made this standard or as an option for a few extra pennies;
with you on that.

Cheers!
Mike

Thanks for your input, Mike. I am guilty of NOT reading the instructions.
What you are saying makes perfect sense and i will give it a try next time i´m riding.
That aside, i still think speed incriments should be allowed to be changed without disengaging and (re)engaging the CC especially with a ride by wire, intelligent system in place. And that does annoy me quite a bit (be it oversight or costcutting on Triumph´s part...)
Mike the Bike likes this.
eisen77 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-27-2017, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Mike the Bike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by eisen77 View Post
Thanks for your input, Mike. I am guilty of NOT reading the instructions.
What you are saying makes perfect sense and i will give it a try next time i´m riding.
That aside, i still think speed incriments should be allowed to be changed without disengaging and (re)engaging the CC especially with a ride by wire, intelligent system in place. And that does annoy me quite a bit (be it oversight or costcutting on Triumph´s part...)
Absolutey mate!
Let me know if it works; if it does it'll be the next thing on my list! I'm sure it'll be somethin' like that
Speed increments are indeed possible with my Road King, but I'm more comfortable with "old school throttle movements" if you know what I mean which work with the Road King too.

I think that if they were to include speed increment adjustments on the bobber, it would necessitate an extra button; or a 4 way button at least; meaning more concentration on that, instead of what's going on in front of my front wheel so, in the light of this, maybe Triumph's system will at the end of the day, be more my thing?!!

Cheers!
mike
Mike the Bike is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-27-2017, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Mike the Bike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
Oh by the way, completely off subject; sorry

I just ordered the Motul 300V 10w40 oil for the first service next Monday 4th Sept.; already done 520km in the last few days, could get over the recommended 800km; looking forward to smoother shifting quieter motor etc. (thanks for the tip).

The weather is getting better here in Northern Europe now, after a pretty messed up summer 'till now; they call it "Alt Weiber Sommer" so should get some serious miles in.
eisen77 likes this.
Mike the Bike is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-27-2017, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: California
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike the Bike View Post
Hello mate,
While I don't have the CC on my bobber, (but seriously considering it), I'm thinking that you may be able to get the control that you're seeking, from the throttle.
When you're cruising with the CC on, and you want to add a little speed, you should be able to do so by opening the throttle to your desired higher speed, (which temporarily deactivates the CC), and then hitting the CC button once. It should then carry on at the newly set speed.
If you want to slow down a bit, you can turn the throttle forward (which also temporarily deactivates the CC), causing the bike to decelerate until you've reached your desired speed and then hit the CC button once to continue at the newly set speed.
Forgive me if I've got it wrong as I've not read the instructions yet, but after riding an HD Road King with CC for the last 8 years, which operates similar to this; it would only seem logical to me that Triumph would have set this up this way.

Simple yes, and you're quite right saying that they could have made this standard or as an option for a few extra pennies;
with you on that.

Cheers!
Mike
Mike,
You are correct. I have the CC installed on my Bobber and what you describe above is the exact way it works. Also, to echo your comments, it has worked that was on many of my old bikes including Harley's.
Spridal is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-18-2017, 07:41 PM
Junior Member
 
GsiniD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 21
Garage
After reading the forum posts related to the factory branded cruise control; am I the only one that thinks this is nothing but a two wire monetary switch? I had a quick chat with the local Triumph dealers tech and we both think that this may be a, ≈$5 material cost, simple DIY project. I'm going to try and get a picture of the wire harness that comes with the factory cruise control and try a couple of different switches (NC, NO types) with the software turned on to see if that's the case. If it is, anyone willing to do a super simple wire job plus drilling a hole in the standard hand control housing should be able to enable cruise control minus the $400 button Triumph sells.

Learning is not compulsory... neither is survival.
~W. Edwards Deming
GsiniD is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-18-2017, 08:14 PM
Super Moderator
 
Psychopasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by GsiniD View Post
After reading the forum posts related to the factory branded cruise control; am I the only one that thinks this is nothing but a two wire monetary switch?
I think you meant momentary switch, but in this case auto-correct got to the gist of it

- Pasta
Psychopasta is online now  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 03:50 AM
Senior Member
 
chezqui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dorset, UK
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by GsiniD View Post
After reading the forum posts related to the factory branded cruise control; am I the only one that thinks this is nothing but a two wire monetary switch? I had a quick chat with the local Triumph dealers tech and we both think that this may be a, ≈$5 material cost, simple DIY project. I'm going to try and get a picture of the wire harness that comes with the factory cruise control and try a couple of different switches (NC, NO types) with the software turned on to see if that's the case. If it is, anyone willing to do a super simple wire job plus drilling a hole in the standard hand control housing should be able to enable cruise control minus the $400 button Triumph sells.
Can't be much more than a push button, as you say the rest is already there.
chezqui is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 10-19-2017, 04:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Mike the Bike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 360
In this picture from the Triumph website, the switch housing has the main-beam/dip-switch positioned differently from the stock position. So what have they done with the stock dip-switch on the front of the housing? And why does the housing from Eisen77's look completely different?
...strange...

mike

Through the mud & the blood, to the green fields beyond...

British Army Veteran 1975-1984

Last edited by Mike the Bike; 10-19-2017 at 04:38 PM. Reason: forgot the picture...
Mike the Bike is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cruise control MikenLbk Triumph Bonneville Bobber Dealers, Pricing And Orders 9 08-14-2017 01:54 PM
Adding Cruise Control - tech question YEG*Bobber Engine Discussions 12 07-08-2017 01:48 AM
Looking for bobber cruise control... Spridal Triumph Bobber Forum General Discussion 1 06-07-2017 10:17 PM
Forward Control Kit eisen77 Triumph Bobber Forum General Discussion 1 05-26-2017 11:47 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome