Heads-up display mod kit for helmets - Triumph Bobber Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By colin

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-11-2018, 05:13 PM Thread Starter

Heads-up display mod kit for helmets

I'm an electrical engineering grad, and I'm a relatively new rider (been riding about three years). In my spare time, I put together a heads-up display for my own personal use. By chance, I took the helmet with me to a motorcycle show last month, and a few people I met said I ought to think about turning it into a mod kit and selling it.

I only have one, so I'm not actually selling it, but I thought I'd share it with the community to get some thoughts on it.

The eyepiece displays text in your field-of-view, so you can always keep your eyes on the road. It’ll display your speed, or basic GPS navigation, or both. The HUD pairs via Bluetooth to a smartphone. It looks like this from the inside of the helmet:

All of the pieces are adjustable and they fit inside any helmet, so you can keep wearing the helmet that you know and like.

It works during the day, at night, and in the rain. All weather, all conditions.

As you can see, there is no frontal aerodynamic impact, because all of the pieces are tucked inside the helmet:

As far as safety is concerned, the eyepiece is made out of a ballistics-grade composite. I wouldn’t depend on it to stop an actual bullet, but it’ll definitely hold up in even the most serious impacts.

The pieces are stuck inside the helmet with an incredibly strong adhesive. Once placed, the pieces are **** near impossible to remove. You can try to yank them out, hard, and they won't budge.

The mod doesn’t permanently alter the helmet (i.e. no holes get drilled or anything like that). Removing the adhesive would take some elbow grease, but it’s possible, so it wouldn’t be like you’d permanently maim your helmet with this mod.

Altogether, it costs $135 to put the materials for the kit together.