Hi from Virginia, USA - rain capital of the universe - Triumph Bobber Forum
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-29-2018, 06:46 PM Thread Starter

Post Hi from Virginia, USA - rain capital of the universe

I've been riding bikes of all kinds for 35 years - bikes I've owed range from a series of dirt bikes (Yamaha/Suzuki), to standards (VStrom & Aprilia Pegaso), street (Ninja 650R, my least favorite), and my current touring bike, a modified bagger (HD Road King with full bags and fairing - which I've owned since 2003 and will never sell, as it's my "club touring" bike).

My "Unicorn" has always been some sort of bobber. I've always drooled over the old school, chopped and stripped bikes, but not the faddish "custom" choppers from the now gone TV shows like OCC and Jesse James. I walked into a fairly new dealership that opened near me to check out the Indian Scouts. The dealership also sold: Indian, BMW, Royal Enfield, BMW and Triumph.

There was some 20+ Triumphs on the floor, with several Bonneville Bobbers sporting cafe & standard handlebar configurations for me to try. I instantly fell in love with the Bobber, and while talking with the sales associate, was alerted that there were a couple used Bobbers in the previously owned section if I was interested - as one that had just came back had the mini-ape bars. My Harley has mini-apes, so I was very interested, and we walked over to take a look.

OMG... when I sat on it, it was perfect! What were the odds that an "Ironstone" 2017 with 650 miles on the odometer and not a dent, flaw, or scratch anywhere would be waiting on me? We wheeled it outside and I took a nice ride around the neighborhood. Not only was the Triumph gorgeous, but it handled unlike anything I was expecting. It was slung low, which shaved off 100 lbs (7+ stones for my euro friends). The engine was relatively smooth compared to my 95ci HD - and had gobs of quiet power and torque.