Why it was love at first site! - Triumph Bobber Forum
 9Likes
  • 9 Post By BOBBYP

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-09-2018, 09:43 PM Thread Starter

Why it was love at first site!

I hate to realize it but I have been riding for almost 5 decades! I love old bikes especially Cafe Racers and Bobbers. Until a few years ago you had to make them, not buy them. I have several back yard creations in my garage right now. Back yard engineering, available frames, motors and parts. I'm proud of them, But if I think I can strap on a 3 day pack and point them at the horizon for a great long weekend, I am severely kidding my self!

When Triumph introduced the Bobber with factory engineering, factory handling, and factory reliability, I had to have one, Heck, there's even a factory warranty.

Several other manufacturers have also introduced Bobbers, and with the huge success many others will soon follow! But I believe Triumph was the truest rendering and I doubt anybody else will surpass them!
Cafe Racers and Bobbers were bikes that were stripped down on different sides of the pond! So... when people start adding all kinds of crap to them that will make them heavier or more complicated, it Irks me...sorry!

I know many Bobber buyers could care less about history, or authenticity! They are maturing riders coming off sport bikes that want to stay within the Triumph brand or they just think it's flat out cool (which it is).
They are the reason Triumph is making what I call the "watered down versions" with dual brakes and passenger seats. Make no mistake they will sell them by the boat load, Triumph marketing hasn't made a mistake lately! I'll just take mine straight up thank-you!

P.S. Any of you younger riders who may think I'm trying to brag about 5 decades of riding (doesn't mean crap ) remember one thing...... It's only the next ride that counts!
getor, Griff0351, MikeB and 6 others like this.

Last edited by BOBBYP; 02-09-2018 at 09:46 PM. Reason: thought!