Mounting phone/sat nav bracket to top yoke with clip ons - Triumph Bobber Forum
 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 06:51 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 118
Garage
Mounting phone/sat nav bracket to top yoke with clip ons

Hi.

I've got a set of clip ons fitted to my Bobber Black. Sadly, there isn't enough room on the bars to mount even a small bracket for a 5cm Beeline Moto sat nav, which uses the same sort of mount as a GoPro.

The yoke would be an ideal place to mount it through one of the holes where the riser was, but I'm struggling to find the parts to do it.

Anyone have any suggestions as to where to mount a phone/sat nav holder with clip ons?
DeeEff is offline  
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 118
Garage
The other suggestion I have, is to mount it using one of the brackets from the optional clock/temperature gauge. Anyone got one of these fitted so I can look at the bracket?
DeeEff is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
kilyung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Mike in Los Angeles
Posts: 488
I bought and installed the RAM mount 1” balls that screw into the lever mirror mount locations on either side. Now I can mount my QuadLock adapter on either side and my GoPro on the other.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3735ED47-5047-4286-92BD-99CA4583ED7B_1567556654136.jpeg
Views:	34
Size:	24.7 KB
ID:	37571   Click image for larger version

Name:	E44EEF36-D0A6-49C8-80A5-D56DC7C367C2_1567556740826.jpeg
Views:	44
Size:	13.6 KB
ID:	37573  
eisen77 and DeeEff like this.

Last edited by kilyung; 09-03-2019 at 08:29 PM.
kilyung is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-03-2019, 08:28 PM
Senior Member
 
kilyung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Mike in Los Angeles
Posts: 488
I believe you can also get a 1” RAM ball mount for the top yoke using the vacated riser screw holes
eisen77 likes this.
kilyung is online now  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-04-2019, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 118
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilyung View Post
I believe you can also get a 1” RAM ball mount for the top yoke using the vacated riser screw holes
I could work with a ram ball mount, do you have a picture or a link? Also, what do you mean by "lever mirror mount locations"
DeeEff is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-04-2019, 02:21 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 118
Garage
Never mind, I just checked. Had the bike a year and never noticed the mirror blanks. That will be perfect, you're a star!
DeeEff is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-05-2019, 06:26 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 118
Garage
And mounted, just where it needs to be. I've adjusted it now so that its the right way up, but the bracket is nice and inconspicuous when its removed. Great suggestion!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4470.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	232.3 KB
ID:	37605  
DeeEff is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 06:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilyung View Post
I bought and installed the RAM mount 1” balls that screw into the lever mirror mount locations on either side. Now I can mount my QuadLock adapter on either side and my GoPro on the other.
Kilyung,
Do you know the Ram part number? I would like to replace the two RAM bar mounts for my phone and camera. I think using your mounting method will look nice and tidy.

Thanks

PappyG
PappyG is online now  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 10:26 PM
Senior Member
 
kilyung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Mike in Los Angeles
Posts: 488
I believe RAM-B-367U is easiest. I misspoke when I said “screw-in” as the M8 holes aren’t tapped. You have to screw it into a locking nut from the bottom. You can also drill and tap the holes for the M10 RAM mount RAM-B-349U.

Last edited by kilyung; 09-16-2019 at 10:40 PM.
kilyung is online now  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-17-2019, 07:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilyung View Post
I believe RAM-B-367U is easiest. I misspoke when I said “screw-in” as the M8 holes aren’t tapped. You have to screw it into a locking nut from the bottom. You can also drill and tap the holes for the M10 RAM mount RAM-B-349U.
Thank you for the information. another amazon order on the down low. shhhh she sees and hears everything.. 😂

PappyG
PappyG is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome