Tank Swaps - Triumph Bobber Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By kilyung
  • 1 Post By kilyung
  • 1 Post By trirocket3
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-29-2019, 09:27 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
Tank Swaps

I was thinking about swapping out my tank for another Triumph tank, I know the Speedmaster swap is fairly straight forward, but I was wondering if anyone knew what others might be out there. I've been eyeing an America tank, but I'm sure the frames are too different. So, I thought I'd throw this out to the group and see if anyone has any ideas or know what to watch out for.
mcavanah is online now  
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-29-2019, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
kilyung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Mike in Los Angeles
Posts: 478
I know the T120 can be made to fit but it requires some light modifications. Before jumping into the tank swap, think about what badging you want on the tank. The Speedmaster badge is rather large and is screwed into holes on the tank. If you go with another badge then you’ll have to cover up the holes or get them filled in and painted.
paloalto likes this.
kilyung is online now  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-29-2019, 10:16 AM
Member
 
CPORet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 50
More importantly, you'll need to think about the fuel pump. With the T120 & new Speedmaster tanks, the fuel pumps are the same, so all you need to do is get a new pump/tank gasket
and you can re-use the Bobber's fuel pump. Though the fuel level sending units are different IIRC. With any other tank, you'd need to look into that.

By Grabthar's Hammer... what a savings.
CPORet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-29-2019, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
kilyung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Mike in Los Angeles
Posts: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPORet View Post
Though the fuel level sending units are different IIRC.
The Fuel Level Sender is the same for the Bobber and Speedmaster. Part no T2401440.
Trace likes this.
kilyung is online now  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-29-2019, 06:01 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 8
Thanks for the info. I'll have to do some research on all the different part numbers and tank measurements to see what will work. Hoping a 2016 Speedmaster tank will work, I think that center console would look real cool, but we'll see.
mcavanah is online now  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-30-2019, 10:45 AM
Member
 
CPORet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilyung View Post
The Fuel Level Sender is the same for the Bobber and Speedmaster. Part no T2401440.

You're absolutely correct. Though I realize I wasn't as clear as I should have been. The T120 Fuel Level Sender is different -T2401865- than
the Speedmaster/Bobber sender. You can use the original sending unit with a T120 tank (I did), but the fuel level readings will be off, i.e.
you'll have more fuel than than the gauge shows. Which, let's face it, isn't necessarily a bad thing. I love looking at the mpg and seeing 99.

By Grabthar's Hammer... what a savings.
CPORet is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-30-2019, 05:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPORet View Post
You're absolutely correct. Though I realize I wasn't as clear as I should have been. The T120 Fuel Level Sender is different -T2401865- than
the Speedmaster/Bobber sender. You can use the original sending unit with a T120 tank (I did), but the fuel level readings will be off, i.e.
you'll have more fuel than than the gauge shows. Which, let's face it, isn't necessarily a bad thing. I love looking at the mpg and seeing 99.
I used a T120 tank with bobber pump/level float etc, just bent the arm a little, it is pretty accurate now.
Roy likes this.
trirocket3 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-01-2019, 12:30 PM
Member
 
CPORet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by trirocket3 View Post
I used a T120 tank with bobber pump/level float etc, just bent the arm a little, it is pretty accurate now.

Dang, I never thought about doing that. How much of a bend did you have to put in it?

By Grabthar's Hammer... what a savings.
CPORet is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-02-2019, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by CPORet View Post
Dang, I never thought about doing that. How much of a bend did you have to put in it?
Just offered it up to see where it needed to end up without fouling against the tank, couple of tweeks, job done.
trirocket3 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome