Thinking out loud . - Triumph Bobber Forum
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 01:55 PM Thread Starter

Thinking out loud .

Hey guys...Would anybody know If there would be any adverse effect on the motor If there was a 2 into 2 exhaust system that had no cat and no X pipe...Apart from the sound that Is .
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 02:39 PM
Super Moderator

Garage
According to posts on this topic at other forums, and on this one, the thought is that this motor/tune needs the Xpipe or Cat in order to maintain torque levels.

I am no engineer, only regurgitating what I have read and have no real world experience with the topic.
Roy likes this.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 02:57 PM
Roy

Garage
Thanks for that.

That question had crossed my mind too. I must confess I prefer the 'old world' simplicity of straight two-into- two pipes but also would not want to cause any issues.

Cheerio,

Roy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 04:52 PM

Good question. As a rule of thumb, small mods to intake or exhaust will make small negative changes to the tune. Large changes will make large negative effects to the tune. Everything from the shape of the airbox to the angle and number of bends in the exhaust pipes are coded into the tune. I talked to a master race tuner at a local race shop about a custom tune for the Bobber. He stated that outside of a tune box (which essentially tricks the ECU), he would have to wait for someone in the race world to "jailbreak" the ECU, which would be unlikely for quite some time.